Netizen 24 MYS: DAP re-election: Kok Wai elected national chairman, Gobind deputy

By On November 12, 2017

DAP re-election: Kok Wai elected national chairman, Gobind deputy

Guan Eng remains secretary-general while Kit Siang is still parliamentary leader.

dapSHAH ALAM: Tan Kok Wai was elected as the new national DAP chairman, at the conclusion of the DAP central executive committee (CEC) re-election today.

He had previously held the acting chairman’s position following Karpal Singh’s death.

Gobind Singh Deo is probably the one with the biggest jump, becoming deputy chairman after being DAP’s legal bureau chairman.

Current party secretary-general Lim Guan Eng remained in the position he had held since 2004.

Teresa Kok, who was previously vice-chairman, was elected as deputy secretary-general.

Other major positions remained largely unchanged, with Fong Kui Lun remaining as the national treasurer, Anthony Loke Siew Fook as nati onal organising secretary, Tony Pua as national publicity secretary, Liew Chin Tong as political education director, and Lim Kit Siang as the party’s parliamentary leader.

Gobind, when speaking to reporters later, thanked the delegates for voting him into the CEC, and said his position carried a heavy responsibility.

Calling the team a commendable one, Gobind said one could expect results from them.

“There is a lot of work to be done. We have to look ahead and focus on the general election next year,” he said.

Gobind expressed hope that the Registrar of Societies (RoS) would not find fault with the election again.

“It was done in accordance with their instructions, so I do not think there should be problems.

“Let us hope that we can get past this and that the RoS will recognise the CEC, and we can move forward with other matters in DAP,” he said.

Selangor DAP committee member Ronnie Liu, who made a comeback into the CEC after a four-year hiatus, also thanked the delegates for their faith in him.

“I will try my level best to serve the party and be the link between the party grassroots and leadership,” he told reporters.

The following are the CEC members:

National chairman: Tan Kok Wai
Deputy chairman: Gobind Singh Deo
Vice-chairmen: Chong Chieng Jen, Chow Kon Yeow, M Kulasegaran, Tengku Zulpuri Raja Puji, Stephen Wong
Secretary-general: Lim Guan Eng
Deputy secretaries-general: Teresa Kok, Nga Kor Ming, V Sivakumar
National treasurer: Fong Kui Lun
Assistant national treasurer: Ngeh Koo Ham
National organising secretary: Anthony Loke Siew Fook
Assistant national organising secretary: Thomas Su, Khoo Poay Tiong
National publicity secretary: Tony Pua
Assistant national publicity secretary: Yeo Bee Yin, Zairil Khir Johari
Political education director: Liew Chin Tong
Assistant political education director: Ong Ki an Ming
International secretary: Teo Nie Ching
DAP parliamentary leader: Lim Kit Siang
Committee members: Chong Eng, Ronnie Liu, Teng Chang Khim, Jannie Lasimbang, John Brian, Wong Kah Woh, Hannah Yeoh

Today’s special congress was held following a directive from the RoS for fresh elections to be held for the CEC.

A total of 1,356 delegates, out of the 2,514 delegates who were eligible to vote as per the list from the Dec 15, 2012 party elections, were present.

The dispute over DAP’s 2012 party elections was revived in July, three years after the matter was thought to have been settled between the party and RoS.

On July 7, the RoS issued a statement saying it had instructed DAP to hold a fresh election for its CEC, having decided that DAP’s earlier re-election, held on Sept 29, 2013, was not in accordance with the law.

“RoS believes the appointment of the CEC members, as well as the main position holders through that re-election, is illegal.

“The re-election should be based on the list of delegates entitled to attend and vote for DAP’s CEC elections dated Dec 15, 2012, involving 2,576 delegates from 865 branches,” RoS director-general Mohammad Razin Abdullah had said.

Source: Google News

« Prev Post
Next Post »